The Dance of Inter-Dependence.

The dance of inter-dependancy between a guide dog and handler is a really interesting one. It starts off as just a dog and a person. In the first few weeks we learn to trust each other in different ways. The dog learns to trust that it’s needs will be met like food, water and so on and the handler learns that the expectation of being led will be met. Just like in any relationship there are ups and downs of trial and error to learn where each is in the relationship. there are things that frustrate each other and learning curves that each has to endure.

With each of my dogs the learning curves were different just like with each person in a human to human relationship can be. With Shasta it was about the rhythm of our work. She liked to be on the ball and to be the one to lead the way and to do things her way but yet let me get from point A to B. She was the leader and I the follower. She aimed to please. As long as she was amply praised she would do anything asked of her regardless of the cost to her “happiness”.

Shasta had the confidence i lacked in the outside world. I was painfully shy and she was out going and boisterous. I guess you would say that opposites attracted a lot with us both. It’s that opposites that helped us move through the word with such grace and ease. I was able to take on tasks like go to schools and give talks about guide dogs, because of her confidence. She brought people to me and I could grow my relationships from there.

With Zora it was about team work. She relied on me for the direction and I relied on her for the safe travel. Our personalities were identical. She was very soft and gentle and had a sensitive disposition. She could calm the most nervous of people. With her I was the confident one. she needed lifting up and I needed her calm disposition to cope with the grind of hte world.

Kendal was a go getter and loved challenging work situations. She hated routine and loved when things would be mixed up a bit. She helped me rise up out of my comfort zones to broaden my horizons. She gave me the confidence ot try new things and not stay “stuck”. I brought balance to her when she needed the reigning in.

Felice, my sweet Felice was the driving force behind my deisre to bounce back from medical setbacks. She is the one I relied on the most for that zest for life and soul in living. There was humor and laughter at every turn for us. I gave her the vehicle for her to shine her true self. She taught me to live it up a little and relax and just taek each day to the fullest.

Niecy, I”d have to say has been the most like me in temperament. We are like two peas in a pod. We are both sensitive and reactive to our surroundings internally. I rely on her for her read on the world around us and her almost faultless work form. She relies on me for the emotional support and reassurance.

With eadh dog I grew to rely on and depend on them for one thing or another and they on me for one thing or another. Sometimes that balance would be tipped in favor of one or the ther but it all works out in the end. Inter dependence between a service dog and handler can run very deep and the bond difficult to break. We are together 24/7 and we learn our roles with deep commitment to the other.

Leave a comment