Class in a Nutshell

Walking with Shasta was starting to feel like a well-choreographed dance that was orchestrated in perfect sync. That’s what it’s supposed to feel like. We began to develop a rhythm that was all our own that had perfect flow. We moved with such ease and speed it was dizzying.

The little things about going out were getting easier. I could walk through a store without worrying about objects or obstacles in my way, I could walk through a restaurant without worrying about every chair in the way and I could attend church.

The part of class where we tackled the Toronto streets and subway was challenging. A lot happening and people everywhere, but Shasta took it head on. She wasn’t stopping for anything. She weaved me in and out of the crowds with such ease and grace. All I had to do was just stay close to her and follow the handle.

The subway was intimidating, to say the least. The dogs are taught to stay close to the back wall of the platform while the trains whiz by us. There was so much commotion I ended up closing my eyes for a good part of it. It was just too much stimulation. Shasta handled it with such confidence.

Getting in and out of the train was a breeze. I know I wouldn’t be able to do this on my own, but with Shasta it’s like a dance. She would just look up at me just before we were going to head out and then lay into the harness and pull me through; I just followed her, stayed close, and hung onto the handle with a firm but calm grip.

We tackled everything from noisy pubs, restaurants, cabs, the subway system and the bus system. I was grateful I didn’t live in a big city. It would have been too much for me to sort everything out. Shasta made it easier to handle and made it possible for me to enjoy the outings we had as a group.

Leave a comment